▶▷ Important Dates


May  15, 2009:  Paper submission due date

June 26, 2009:  Decision Notification (electronic)

July 24, 2009:  Camera-ready copy due date & pre-registration due

Aug.  27-28, 2009:  EDB 2009


▶▷ Goals


The Emerging Database Conference series is an annual forum for exploring research, development, and novel applications of emerging database technologies. Using this forum, researchers and practitioners can exchange current issues and challenges and new technologies, and solutions.


The First International Conference on Emerging Databases (EDB 2009) will be held at the BEXCO Convention Center in Busan, Korea. The EDB 2009 is organized by the Korea Database Society of KIISE(the Korean Institutes of Information Scientists and Engineers). The theme of EDB 2009, "Data Collecting, Intelligent & Real-time Responding, and Seamless Synchronized Services", marks the continued progress in database theory and practice, leading to greatly improved applications in ubiquitous computing area.


Authors are invited to submit original and research papers addressing technical issues, solutions, and technologies in emerging database systems. All submissions will be peer-reviewed by members of the international program committee. Accepted paper will be included in the EDB 2009 conference proceedings.


The topics of interest for EDB 2009 include, but are not limited to, the following:

    - Advanced database applications

    - Databases for bioinformatics

    - Data mining/knowledge discovery

    - Data warehousing

    - Database system integration issues

    - Embedded and Mobile Databases

    - Federated, distributed, parallel and grid databases

    - High dimensional and temporal data

    - Image/video retrieval and databases

    - Information retrieval, filtering and dissemination

    - Performance issues of databases

    - Privacy and Secure Databases

    - Query processing and optimisation

    - Semi-structured data

    - Spatial data processing/management

    - Stream Data Management

    - Transaction processing

    - Web access to databases

    - XML and databases


▶▷ Submission


Original papers that are not published previously or under review by other journals or conferences will be considered.  All submitted papers will be evaluated according to their originality, significance, correctness, presentation and relevance. Papers should be submitted at http://www.sigdb.or.kr/ as an electronic file. Please follow the instructions given at the web page.  Manuscripts will be limited to 6 pages following IEEE conference proceedings style and guidelines.


Accepted papers will be published in the conference proceedings of the First International Conference on Emerging  Databases (EDB 2009). At least one of the authors of each accepted paper must register as a full participant of the conference to have the paper published in the proceedings. Selected papers will be published in the special issue of the Database Research journal.


Best Paper Award

EDB 2009 Best Paper Awards will be conferred at the conference on the authors of the best research/application paper. Strong, foundational results will be considered for the best paper award.


* Conference Chair Bonghee Hong, Pusan National University, Korea

* Organizing Committee Chair Byeong-Soo Jeong, Kyung Hee University, Korea

* Program Committee Chair Yunmook Nah, Dankook University, Korea

* Proceeding Co-Chairs Sungwon Jung, Sogang University, Korea / Youngkoo Lee, Kyung Hee University, Korea

* Registration Chair Sanghyun Park, Yonsei University, Korea

* Local Arrangement Chair Jino Choi, Pusan Foreign University, Korea  

* Program Committee

   Chin-Chen Chang, Feng Chia University, Taichung, Taiwan / Xiaoyong Du, Renmin University, China

   Yu Ge, North Eastern Univeristy, China / Ki-Joon Han, Konkuk University, Korea

   Wook-Shin Han, Kyungpook National University, Korea / Takahiro Hara, Osaka University, Japan

   Eenjun Hwang, Korea University, Korea / Seung-won Hwang, POSTECH, Korea

   Hiroyuki Kitagawa, University of Tsukuba, Japan / Yasushi Kiyoki, Keio University, Japan

   Arthur H. Lee, Claremont McKenna College, USA / Jeongkyu Lee, University of Bridgeport, USA

   Minsoo Lee, Ewha Womans University, Korea / Sang-goo Lee, Seoul National University, Korea

   Sang-Won Lee, Sungkyunkwan University, Korea / Hong Va Leong, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong

   Jiaheng Lu, Remin University, Beijing, China / Akiyo Nadamoto, Konan University, Japan

   Shinsuke Nakajima, Kyoto Sangyo University, Japan / Sanghyun Park, Yonsei University, Korea

   Seog Park, Sogang University, Korea / Keun Ho Ryu, Chungbuk National University, Korea

   Timothy K. Shih, Tamkang University, Taiwan / Kyuseok Shim, Seoul National University, Korea

   Kazutoshi Sumiya, University of Hyogo, Japan / Guoren Wang, Northeastern University, China

   Jianyong Wang, Tsinghua University, China / Taehyung Wang, California State University, Northridge, USA

   Jaesoo Yoo, Chungbuk National University, Korea / Hwanjo Yu, POSTECH, Korea

* Organizing Committee

   Hyukman Kim, Kookmin University, Korea  / Sanghyun Park, Yonsei University, Korea

   Woongki Noh, Sungkyul University, Korea / Youngkoo Lee, Kyung Hee University, Korea

   Hyusup Shin, Konkuk University, Korea / Jinsuk Chae, Incheon University, Korea

   Sungwon Jung, Sogang University, Korea / Youngho Park, Sookmyung University, Korea

   Sukhee Hong, Kyungsung University, Korea  / Donghyun Kim, Dongseo University, Korea

   Jaeho Ban, Gosin University, Korea / Jino Choi, Pusan Foreign University, Korea